Review: My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

I looked at this book and expected tears. I expected to sob throughout the whole book 

Imageand question why I even decided to read it in the first place. Surprisingly, this didn’t happen.

Anna has been a donor to her cancer-stricken sister, Kate, since birth- literally. Her first donation was blood the day after she was born. She decides to stop being forced by her parents to donate her body to her older sister and goes to a lawyer to sue for those rights. 

This whole book was strange. Anna seemed to love Kate, so why would she want to stop helping her? Anna changes her mind so much through the process of the lawsuit that it’s hard to keep up with what she wants. On one hand, it is her body. On the other, it is her sister. Throughout the book the mom seems to lean so far to Kate instead of Anna, so you could see the resentment. But was that enough to kill her beloved sister?

To be honest, I was a little disappointed that I didn’t cry during the book. Maybe I’m just insensitive. I didn’t fall in love with the characters, either. The only one I did enjoy immensely was the father, because he didn’t seem as one-sided as the others. He wanted to preserve the life of is oldest daughter, but also adhere to the needs of his youngest. The whole story was a tug-a-war between right and wrong, but it was hard to know which side was which. 

Despite some flaws, I finished the book in the span of two days. It was very interesting. How do you deal with a situation like this? I kept putting myself in their shoes, and I have no clue what I would have done. This curiosity urged me to keep turning the pages so I could find out what they would decide. The side topics interested me as well. The mystery of her lawyer’s dog and love affair, the troublesome older brother, and the calming father who couldn’t pick a side made it no chore to read farther in. 

Towards the end of the book, I wouldn’t even get up to use the restroom. My world completely revolved around the one final decision in the end(no spoilers!). Once everything seemed all good I thought, that’s it? The book that’s famous for being a sob story and I didn’t even bat an eye? Little did I know that a lot could happen in the last twenty pages.

After I actually got to the end, I admit I shed a few tears. I found myself thinking now, how can this world be so cruel!? And I prominently reminded myself it is fiction. I’ll try not to give anything away, but the last part seemed a little overkill. One girl already has leukemia and her parents are being sued by their other daughter; that is enough grief. But maybe I only feel this way because it caused a few tears.

If you don’t like sad books, I would like to assure you it doesn’t end all bad. I would definitely recommend it.

Overall, 3.5/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “Review: My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books that Make You Cry | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: 15 Day Book Blooger Challenge: Day 5 | lifeofafemalebibliophile

  3. Pingback: A Sister’s Keeper | My 2nd Chapter

Thought Bubble

