Book Review: The Unidentified by Rae Mariz

Image

School. School. School. School! It has completely overwhelmed my life and has let loose a monster on my weekends. The monster is roaring tasks I must complete as I frantically do the little squirrel-in-the-middle-of-the-road dance wondering whether I should run away leaving dust in my wake or if I should valiantly meet the monster and slay the my responsibilities with the tip of my pencil. Decisions, decisions.

Anyway, that whole metaphor was there to help you see my dilemma:

1. I have absolutely no time to read!

2. I have absolutely no time to write reviews or posts!

Which is another reason why I have yet to post about my book festival adventures. They were quite eventful, too! It will come eventually, I swear! Hopefully by this weekend…

Image

In the mist of my pitiful social life and copious amount of school work, I did finish this book. It took way longer than it should have, though. But that wasn’t all my fault. Part of the reason was that I couldn’t stay interested in this book!

Unidentified is just another dystopian novel that I picked up at the discount section at Books-A-Million. With the plethora of dystopian novels out there, if the book isn’t a drop-dead knock-out mind-blowing story, then it is not worth reading! This genre gives a vast territory of uncharted land for authors to explore, but you cannot just tag behind another author and hope to find a corner they haven’t fully touched! This book wasn’t bad, it was just ordinary.

Ordinary books are boring books, let’s be honest. Creating a school that only exists not to teach, but to promote commercial items is an old concept. Making it into a “game” was a new one, yet it wasn’t as exciting as it could be. The story had set up for about 90% of it, then the problem was solved and wrapped up in a nice little bow during the final 10%. I was sitting there wondering what else was going to happen when, *poof*, it ends.

The struggles of the characters weren’t exciting, I didn’t connect with the characters, and sometimes information just seemed to pop up out of nowhere. For instance, she’d add a random fact towards the end of the book that could have and should have been elaborated on, but instead was just a side note.

I don’t think this book was bad, but it was insipid to me. I need wildly interesting and different to keep me engaged right now, or I won’t want to fit in reading time in my schedule. After finishing this book, I read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time in two days. That was a book I wanted to fit in!! I’ll post that review one day this week, also.

I may have to start combining these reviews so I have time to write them… hmm… Maybe weekly updates or clumps of three? I’ll think about it…

2.5/5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unidentified by Rae Mariz

  1. To get a perception of straightness, halt somewhere on the long side.
    Your horse could be covered from head to toe with horse tack
    gifts, but you must understand that your horse should know how to keep you safe during a ride.
    Photos that survive of Perfectionist show an ideal Trakehner.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten books I almost put down but didn’t | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

