Book Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

betweenthelines

I grabbed this book due to Ex Libris, my school’s book club. It was between this or the Time Machine by H.G. Wells, and I was searching more for a quick and entertaining read. This novel lived up to these expectations.

The plot intrigued me greatly. My curiosity to know just how the authors pulled off the ending kept me reading. The book is about a misfit teenage girl who falls in love with a fairy tale prince from a book. Crazy, right? In her defense, boys in books are always better. What girl hasn’t dreamed of a prince sweeping her off her feet and the two of them galloping away in the sunset? The main character daydreams about the prince and wishes wholeheartedly he could just jump out of the book and rescue her from the mundane life she lives.

Once Delilah, the main character, rereads the book for the umpteenth time , the plot thickens. Suddenly, her beloved prince charming speaks to her from his illustration. The novel switches between Prince Oliver’s and Delilah’s points of view. It shows the story that continues when the book is closed, the fairy tale story Delilah can read, and the life of a lonely teenager using a simple fairy tale as an escape from reality.

A couple critiques: The plot had a few holes. I wasn’t really sure how the whole book-world worked. For instance, do the same rules apply to novels without pictures? Is it the illustrations that come to life, or the words? How come she was the only one who could hear the characters?

Other than a few unanswered questions, I thought the book was fine. It wasn’t exceedingly special, nor was it completely awful. If you’re looking for a fun read, I recommend picking it up.

Disclaimer: While Between the Lines is a Jodi Picoult novel, she also wrote it with her daughter, Samantha van Leer. I haven’t read enough Jodi Picoult to be sure, but I’ve been told this book is very different from her writing style. Still, I loved this book as a simple read, and if you’re in the mood for something light and airy, then crack open the spine of Between the Lines.

3/5 Stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

  1. Hi! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I
    had to ask. Does managing a well-established blog like
    yours take a large amount of work? I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and
    thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips
    for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • Hi! I would say that a blog takes about as much time as you have to give it, and a well-established one does take quite a bit of work. The best thing to do is schedule different types of posts on different days and set time aside to work on it. If you already write a lot you should be fine because one of my main problems is getting motivated to sit down and finish a post. And always remember you’re blogging for yourself and no one else, so if you need to take a breather from the blogging world, than by all means do it. I recommend reading other blogs as well to get ideas for graphics and discussions. And always have fun with it!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Characters who are Fellow Book Nerds | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: ARC Review: Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer | Stealing Pages

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Legend by Mary Lu | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

