Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiant

I did not want to do this review. Nope. I just couldn’t. I knew I’d end up going into a rant about the ending– the good, the bad, and the ugly. My review has the potential to be a novel. (If you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I mean.) I’ll just jump into it, but don’t be surprised if it’s a little… jumbled.

Instead of writing a quick summary of the book per usual, I’ll just show you the Goodreads version:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.
But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

This is bad. Really bad. I didn’t even have enough heart to write a quick summary. This book… is just something else.

Allegiant. The third and final edition in the Divergent trilogy. This book is a little different from the others. It shows both Tris’s and Tobias’s point of view. This take was interesting. I enjoyed finally getting into Tobias’s head. But, I didn’t really feel like I was viewing the world from his eyes.

In the changes between characters, the writing style never changed. It was difficult to remember who I was looking into. For instance, sometimes I’d be reading, completely believing to be thinking like Tris, and then Tris will come into the scene. It confused me greatly throughout the whole book!! I could not figure out who was who, which I feel kind of ruined the book for me.

Another problem: the book was boring. That is just that. Boring. There was an absence of fight scenes, and the exciting Dauntless life was no longer a factor. This made the characters seem dull and lifeless. I had no connection whatsoever to any of them– including Tris and Tobia– in Allegiant. It reminded me of Mockingjay, the last book of the Hunger Games trilogy. Both books had a rather dull ending, even though they were supposedly the final battles of a world altering revolution. There should have been tears and triumphs and a whole entanglement of emotions. Instead, I just happened to read a rather dull book without any connection to the problems at all. It was as if I hadn’t fell in love with the first two books during the summer in the slightest. This book turned out to be a dud.

~*WARNING SPOILER ALERT WARNING SPOILER ALERT WARNING SPOILER ALERT WARNING*~

OH MY GOSH. The ending completely blew my mind. Except, I didn’t enjoy it AT ALL because the rest of the book was so insipid! You can’t slap a terrific ending on the last couple chapters and have the rest of the book be so unexciting. It’s crazy! The main character ***BIGGEST SPOILER EVER DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY READ THE BOOK*** dies. Tris collapses due to some measly bullet wounds shot by a guy in a wheelchair! Let me just tell you how magnificent I think this is.

  1. This is not necessarily a new concept, but it is one that authors hesitate to use. You can’t get readers so attached to the character, especially in first person view, and then kill them. That is practically killing your readers! Veronica Roth pulled it off in a dramatic, but entirely ordinary way.
  2. Ordinary. Getting shot in a revolt is  a common way to go. Tris isn’t special. She is an ordinary girl fighting for what she thinks is right. She doesn’t get some big send-off. She doesn’t get an extravagant death. She doesn’t get unique treatment. I feel like this is a brilliant idea. Roth has taken a powerful character with some quirks and some bad points, just like everyone else, and plopped her into a situation where she now has to be the leader, which is like a multitude of other books. Unfortunately, not everyone wins the battle. Not everyone continues on to live a fruitful life of happiness and can remember the revolution as “the glory days.” People die, and it isn’t just the minor characters. Instead of just telling us Tris is a normal girl, she is showing us Tris is about as ordinary as it gets. She even dies in a simple skirmish between her and another man. No one else was around. It was just her, and she failed. End of story.

Sure, its a fabulous idea. For me, considering the whole book didn’t live up to my high standards, the scene didn’t faze me. I just thought, okay, wow, she’s dead. I wonder how Tobias will take this. No emotion at all. Let me tell you, if Harry Potter died, I would sob. I would sob and sniffle and crawl into my bed and refuse to emerge for days. Tissues would litter my room and I would withdrawal from public life. It would be like one of my best friends dying. In my mind, nothing compares to Harry Potter, but I was pretty connected with Tris and her life throughout the first two novels. In this one, the plot was uninteresting and it was all around unappealing, so I couldn’t even enjoy the revolutionary ending.

I’m probably being too harsh, per usual, but I’ll tell you some external factors that may have made me loathe the book as much as I do. And I don’t really loathe it. I just wasn’t impressed by the ending when I know I should have been. I read this book between books, first of all. I started, then stopped, then started again. I despise doing that. And, I read it on my phone. Not a Kindle or anything, a phone. I have to say, the tiny screen and miniature “pages” didn’t help my reading comfort, which I feel has a lot to do with the enjoyment of the book.

This book was a big miss for me, but like I said, that is for a multitude of reasons. I just felt the ending was completely anti-climatic. I wish I cried and screamed and threw my phone at the wall in absolute bafflement. But I didn’t. I read it and moved on. It was a fine book, it just didn’t live up to the other two nor did it make a mark on me. My favorite books are always the ones whose themes and plots and characters stick with me for a while. This just didn’t stick.

2.5/5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Characters I’d Want with Me on a Deserted Island | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013 | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

