Compare: Hunger Games and Divergent Series

Divergent-series-by-Veronica-Roth hungergamesseries

Vs.

These series are two young adult trilogies which have risen to the top of the charts. The Hunger Games new movie, Catching Fire, came out last weekend, and the Divergent movie is to be released in March. I’ve read and loved both, and lately I’ve been pondering on the similarities between the series. The more I thought about it, the more I noticed. Let me show you what I mean.

  • trilogy
  • dystopia
  • female protagonist and male love interst (Tris and Tobias/ Katniss and Peeta)
  • revolt against government
  • corrupt government
  • government keeping secrets
  • government organizing people into groups (factions/ districts)
  • First book about a “normal” event in the society to introduce the readers to the world (Initiation/ Hunger Games)
  • The last two books about the revolt against the government
  • A lot of deaths in the last book
  • The last book being disappointing (to me at least)

I could probably name more, but I think this proves my point.

Don’t get me wrong, both of these series are near and dear to my heart, and I’ve loved them all. It just got me wondering. I don’t particularly mind the plots being similar, as long as they’re written well. It made me think about the concept there is really only one plot. Maybe the variations on this universal plot comes and goes in fads. For instance, when the ever so popular Twilight came out, vampire and werewolf books followed by the hundreds. Some were glorious and breathtakingly wonderful to read, and others were just plain knock-off books.

I know a lot of people who are stuck in one genre. If they read a fabulous book, they scrounge the world for one similar because they assume they’ll like it as much as the first one. Maybe it’s the same thing for everything. Once one thing gets popular, suddenly there are mountains of things just like it following. It only takes one best seller, or one box office boom to shift the fad.

As of today, the fad seems to be dystopias. They all revolve around the same concept, and they all project the same idea. The things that set them apart are the writing styles, characters, and fantastic twists the authors add to the story line to get readers to fall in love. I have many dystopian novels that have weaved their way into my favorite book list. We know the bare bones of the plot already, but we don’t know the meat of the journey we will embark on by opening one of these books.

I’m not sure exactly what I’m trying to say. I guess I just want to show you while the basis, or more than the basis, might be the same, the authors add extra twists and turns to create an entirely new plot. Each book is its own, and each book brings something a little different. Too bad I can’t read them all. đŸ™‚

Thought Bubble

