Top Ten Tuesday: Books on My Winter TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This is my first time participating in Top Ten Tuesdays, so stay with me! This week is your winter TBR list. I could go on for hours (as it is, I probably talk my friends’ ears off with my reading schedule), but I can only choose 10! None of my books are ARCs or new releases, so you’ve probably read or heard of most of them.

1.Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

eleanorandpark

I’ve been wanting to read this book FOREVER, and I know I’m showing up a little late, but I’ve got it from the library and ready to read as my next book!

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

200px-City_of_Bones

I used to catch glimpses of this book and always thought I should read it, but I never had the initiative to actually crack its spine. Now, after the movie and thousands of fans, I figure it’s high time I jump into this book.

3. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

ThirteenReasonsWhy

This is another book I always saw around. It seems heart-wrenching and beautiful, and I absolutely adore any book that can make me cry!

4. Abundance of Katherines by John Green

katherines23

Well, it’s John Green. I’ve begun to watch his Youtube videos, and I love every aspect of him and his brother. They’re funny and kind and all around awesome people! I will probably always think his books are a tad overrated, but I love them and the author all the same.

5. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

the_truth_about_forever

I’ve loved every book Sarah Dessen has written! She has a contemporary style with a flare for dramatics. I love the themes in all the books, and while some of them carry some heavy meanings, they’re all entertaining and fun to read.

6. The Shining by Stephen King

shining

I think it’s time. It’s time I put on my big girl pants and look into the depths of The Shining. I have yet to even watch a horror film (the closest I’ve come is Jurassic Park), but after reading Under the Dome, it’s about time I brave this famous novel.

7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride

I have a feeling this will be a grueling read, but I need the literary culture it brings. I’ve heard it’s wonderful; I’ve also heard it’s complicated and dull book. Either way, I need to decide for myself.

8. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

flowers-for-algernon-daniel-keyes-paperback-cover-art

I can think of no other reason to read this other than it’s on my list. Not that I have anything against it. I’ve just never heard of it. My school’s librarian gave me a list of NPR’s Top 100 YA Books, and I’ve made it my personal mission to read them all– except the ones I don’t want to read, of course :).

9. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

speak

This one is also pretty high on the list (number 26), and I know Laurie Anderson is a fabulous writer.

10. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

a-christmas-carol

Last but not least, A Christmas Carol. I’ve already read this one twice, but last year I made it my goal to read it every Christmas. You have Christmas movies and shows, so why not Christmas books?

That’ s it on my Winter TBR List. I bet the list will change as the weeks go by, but this is all I have so far. Hopefully I’ll get them all completed during exam week and over the break. I’ll be studying like crazy this week until then. I probably won’t get much time to read, but I have two full weeks of bliss to get a head start! Yay for breaks!

