Book Review: House of Hades by Rick Riordan

ImageI know, I know. This fabulous book came out way back in October, and I got it the week it released, but I’ve just gotten around to reading it. I had school books and review books and book club books to finish before starting this. A couple of times I would start a new book and completely forget I even needed to read this one! I knew once I started it, though, it would consume my entire attention until I finished, which it did.

I loved Percy Jackson, and I love the Heroes of Olympus. It makes me so happy Riordan decided to do a spin-off of Percy’s series, because I love all the characters so much. It’s just like Harry Potter. I’m so connected to the characters; I feel like I know them. Both series are fantastic.

Percy Jackson is obviously for middle grades. Heroes of Olympus, while longer and higher level, is still on the juvenile shelves. I love that Riordan tailored his series to grow with the readers, but I don’t think young adult is the right words to describe these books. For one, they’re kind of cheesy. Why do all the characters get to be paired up in nice little couples? Why are the one-liners more corny than realistic? These qualities prove to be for younger adolescents rather than older teens.

But the thing is- I don’t care. I love the series!! I’m not growing out of it anytime soon, and I don’t think I’ll be finished with them next year either. The characters are too well-developed. I grew up with these guys! Grover and Percy and Annabeth are my best friends! I know their “voices,” I know their personalities, and I know their adventures. Riordan references to his previous books a lot, and I’ve been there with them. I can’t just abandon these guys, and I’ll be crushed when the series ends.

After the Percy Jackson series, I was crushed. When I found out about this one, I practically jumped for joy. Seriously, guys, I have a huge problem. I have the biggest crush on Percy Jackson (shh… don’t tell Annabeth), and I know he’s fictional, but come on! I’ve been through so much with this kid!

Riordan created a world I wish I lived in, just like the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. I wish I could talk to Zeus and venture to the Underworld. He single-handedly sparked my interest in Greek (and now Roman) mythology.

This author is a magnificent writer. The Heroes of Olympus series has so many different points of view, and I never get confused whose eyes I’m looking through. It all comes back to the characters; he developed them so well it’s like their real people.

My heart sped up during the scenes in Tartarus with Percy and Annabeth, and I was torn when i found out Nico’s secret. While some of the dialogue is a little lame and the writing low level, the plot and the characters hold my interest just fine. More than just fine. I’m on the edge of my seat whimpering in fear and biting my nails during the fight scenes. I’ve audibly cheered at the gang’s triumphs, even though I know everything will turn out okay.

This turned into a series review, but it is the 4th book in the series. I figure if you guys were going to read this book, you’ll have to start at the beginning of the series. Just know that Riordan seamlessly ties in Greek and Roman mythology into the plot and has AWESOME characters. He’s weaved a world I wish I could walk into.

5/5 Stars, of course!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: House of Hades by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Characters who are Fellow Book Nerds | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books for Readers who Like Character-Driven Novels | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Characters I’d Want with Me on a Deserted Island | Stealing Pages

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books about Friendship | Stealing Pages

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books that will Make You Swoon | Stealing Pages

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Books that Make You Cry | Stealing Pages

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013 | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

