Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012-300x444

After Eleanor and Park and all the hype this book got, I knew it was only a matter of time before I fell in love with it. I opened it, and the first thing I noticed was the skinny margins and tiny words. Yes!? I began on page one, willing the amount of time I spent reading to stretch out. I hate finishing a good book.

Fangirl starts when Cath and Wren, twins, begin their first day of college. Both girls loved Simon Snow growing up, and wrote fanfiction about the series. Gradually, Wren began to move on, while Cath stayed dedicated to writing pages and pages of fanfiction. Instead of rooming together as Cath wanted, they went their separate ways on campus. Cath, being an introvert, stressed the whole time without her outgoing sister to guide her. Her roommate and her roommate’s boyfriend take Cath under their wing. Constantly worrying about her fragile father, her fiction writing class, and a hauntingly beautiful classmate, Cath just wants to finish the year in one piece. Until Levi sweeps her off her feet….

I liked the new idea of incorporating a fandom into the book. They’ve become a big part of our society. People do sit on their computers and read/write about [insert obsession here]. If you walk down the hallway in any high school, at least every other person will be associated with some sort of fandom. Or they could tell you someone they know obsessed with [insert obsession here].

At the beginning of every chapter, Rowell wrote an excerpt of the Simon Snow series or one of Cath’s twists. The truth? I absolutely could not stand reading them! I guess I could have skipped over them, but sometimes there were also excerpts in the story lasting a loooonnnngggg time. I do not want to here about the Simon and Baz romance or their adventures! I want to soak in the tentative steps Cath takes to branching out and her new found romance!

Also, I’m thinking the fictional Simon Snow series is the equivalent to Harry Potter. Each book began with Simon Snow and the…. He went to a school of magic. There were love triangles. Movies. Basically everyone read the book/ watched the movie. Large fandoms. During the boring excerpts, I found myself just looking for similarities between the two.

Otherwise, I loved every part of the book. I don’t know what it is about Rowell’s writing style, but it always fits so nicely. The plot wasn’t really anything special, save the fanfiction. The book wasn’t all that light and fluffy. It contained family troubles, drinking problems, and everyday anxiety.

I love how Rowell molds her books to create a world that is so much like our own. Nothing feels out of place. There isn’t any so called “random” moments where the characters show up at the exact right time. There are no moments where I thought, what are the chances of that happening? She did all this while still making the story pop. I didn’t dismiss Fangirl as average or dull. In fact, I think it is the exact opposite.

The book is so realistic, it’s original. I love it. The romance is adorable and the characters are easy to connect with.

4.5 Stars

“But Cath didn’t have any secrets, and she didn’t want to keep anything from Wren. Not when it felt so good, so easy, to know that when she was with Wren, she didn’t have to worry about a filter.”

“‘I’m not really a book person.’ ‘That might be the most idiotic thing you’ve ever said to me.'”

“‘What’s wrong with Starbucks?’ ‘It’s a big, faceless corporation.'”

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Characters who are Fellow Book Nerds | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books for Readers who Like Character-Driven Novels | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Characters I’d Want with Me on a Deserted Island | Stealing Pages

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books that should be in Your Beach Bag | Stealing Pages

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame as Art | Stealing Pages

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Books that will Make You Swoon | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

