Top Ten Books that Make You Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This is a hard topic for me. I don’t cry often in books or movies. Really, I hardly ever cry. But here are some of my tearjerkers (they may or may not have caused actual tears, though).

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowlinghp deathly hallowsHow can you not at least tear up when the final battle is taking place? I couldn’t call myself a true Potterhead if I said this book didn’t hit me hard.
  2. Paper Towns by John Greenpaper townsI’m not really sure why this book makes me sad. It just does.
  3. Divergent by Veronica RothdivergentOkay, there is only one part in this book I could NOT handle. *SPOILER* The part where Tris shoots Will killed my insides. It was so devastating. Otherwise, I wouldn’t call this a sad one.
  4. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoultmy-sisters-keeper-lgSo, this is obviously known for being a sob story. The ending didn’t get me that much(I felt like it was too contrived), but the interaction between the sisters as all the legal stuff is going on was depressing. The unjust conclusion just made me mad.
  5. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen ChboskyPerksofbeingwallflower1This is a peculiar book that leaves the reader feelings empty and depressed.
  6. Feed by M.T. Anderson feedThe end of this book killed me. *SPOILER* When the girl dies and the guy is just like “yeah, whatever.” That is not okay!
  7. The Heroes of Olympus (series) by Rick Riordan heroes-of-olympus-bannerThis falls in the same group as Harry Potter. It isn’t so much the plot, but the characters. Every time there is a large life threatening situation I clench up and read a little faster with a little more anxiety. A couple of places had my eyes wide with tears welling up, just because I don’t want anyone to hurt these guys!
  8. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusakbook thiefThis book makes me ache for all the actual people who endured this tragedy.
  9. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frankanne frankDiary of Anne Frank is similar to Book Thief, but way worse. For one, this is a nonfiction book. Anne Frank went through this and still died. I first read this book in elementary school, and I returned it to the library without reading the afterward and didn’t realize she dies. Then I picked it up again in middle school because I felt like I was doing her an injustice not to have fully comprehended her story. It’s just a depressing thought knowing this is not fiction. This really happened.
  10. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetysbetween shades of grayCan you tell the historical fiction novels make me cry more than other genres? I cannot stand reading about these conditions and knowing someone went through something very similar. It is heartbreaking.

Well, making this list made me realize two things. 1) I get way too attached to characters. 2) I cry more due to real events rather than fictional ones. This is such a depressing Top Ten Tuesday!

patrick feels

Thought Bubble

