Top Ten Reason I Love being a Blogger/Reader

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is about all the great things about being a blogger and a reader. It’s a good reminder of why we continue to stay up all hours of the night to write posts and review books. Really, the good things about blogging outway the bad. 

  1. Blogger: I always have something to do. Before my blogging days, I would turn on my computer, stare at it, and basically turn it off again and move on.
  2. Free books to review! I’ve decided I want to go into the publishing field preferably as an editor and receiving books to review help me critically read.
  3. I’m in the know, or at least, kind of in the know. I still scroll through Twitter and find myself ignorant about some popular series or authors or events.
  4. I love being able to give my opinions. Instead of me complaining/ praising a book to my friends who have no clue what I’m talking about or care, I get to write about my feelings about the book for people who actually want to read or have already read the book.
  5. I’m in control of a whole blog, and I can do whatever I please with it! I can change the theme and the colors and my posts and everything. It’s fun having complete control over something; no one can tell you what to do or how to do it.
  6. Reader: I always have something to do wherever I am. I don’t have to rely on signal or battery life or anything. I can just whip out my book and have instant entertainment.
  7. I get to escape my dull life and plunge into one much more exciting.
  8. I learn things as I read. Most of the time it’s just for cultural awareness, but sometimes it’s street smarts or little facts and tidbits.
  9. I see things from someone else’s perspective. In books I can finally understand the thoughts of a girl with an eating disorder (Wintergirls) or a boy with mental problems (The Curious Incident of a Dog in the Nighttime). It allows me to broaden my understanding of people in general.
  10. Lastly, I’ll go for a superficial reason. Reading makes people seem smarter. I know I don’t sit down with a 500 page book on the French Revolution, but other non-readers automatically assume I read nonfiction and classics and other enlightening material. When, in actuality, I mostly fly through random fiction books.
Thought Bubble

