Book Review: Legend by Mary Lu

Legend-Book-Cover

The cover of Legend has been making many appearances in my life thus far. In bookstores and libraries, as well as circulating the Internet, the simple cover followed me everywhere. I have a confession: I did not want to read it. For one, I’m tired of all the dystopias. Who knows what will happen in the future? We could have a survival show on children killing each other, a faction based society, a society that has backpedaled in innovations, or a government brainwashing their people. I’ve read them all.

It isn’t so much the idea of dystopias that irks me; it is the amount of unoriginal future societies. If I read one more futuristic novel with a half thought-out world, I think I’ll explode.

I didn’t want to read Legend just for those reasons. I heard it was great, but I couldn’t bring myself to pick it up. Instead, I procrastinated until my book club decided on it as one of the choices, which seems to be a growing trend with me. My friend gave me the final shove, and I cracked open the spine, expecting disappointment. Instead, my interest grew with every passing page.

When authors don’t explain the world or the situation right away, I’m hooked. I know, that’s what their goal is. I get it, but once a some sort of mysterious or suspenseful element arises, I’m in. Hook, line, and sinker. I don’t care if I’m finding out what happened at the party earlier that summer or figuring out why a friend is angry or unraveling the new and exciting world the author has created. I just need to know! I guess it’s just my curiosity.

From the first adventure, I knew I had to stay until the end. Partly, this was because of the actual mystery. Partly due to learning my way around the futuristic world Day and June live in.

Day is the most wanted criminal in the Republic. Born into poverty, his main objective is to assist family and friends. June is the perfect citizen. She passed the Trial with flying colors and is ready to tackle any job the Republic asks of her. When her older brother is killed on duty, she crosses paths with Day, the number one suspect for the murder. In a turn of events, she realizes she’s been fighting the wrong enemy.

I enjoy the adventures and the mystery in the novel. There’s nonstop action and always something else to uncover as you flip the page.

The romance sparking between June and Day kept me reading, also. Something about forbidden love developing between supposed enemies is a pretty surefire way to hook readers (ehm, Romeo and Juliet). Luckily, she didn’t  make them too star-crossed. They didn’t kiss every other page or weep in each other’s absence. I like knowing the romance between the two takes place in addition to the rest of the plot, not the other way around.

On the other hand, in some places the romance felt forced. I think Lu could have made June and Day just friends or alliances. Not every boy/girl relationship needs to turn into something more! I think the whole star-crossed lovers thing is a bit overdone, but it always gets readers.

The book is written in June’s and Day’s perspective, which needed to be done for the story. Some books use fonts or italics or just chapter names to distinguish speakers, but Legend  uses color. I absolutely hated the color. It’s an ugly yellow-brown, probably to match the color of the cover. I do not like reading books in different colors. No. Some books may be able to pull it off. For instance, Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer uses colors, but it fits in with the light and airy story. I did not like the color one bit. I found myself reading faster just so I can see the normal black font again.

Since my one problem isn’t part of the actual story, it isn’t a deal breaker. I’m not sure if I’m planning to finish the rest of the series, though. I enjoyed it immensely, but something I can’t really put my finger on holds me back from absolutely loving it. Maybe it’s the writing style or some elements of the plot. I’m not really sure. Overall, I would recommend it for any young adult in a dystopian fix.

3.5 Stars

One thought on “Book Review: Legend by Mary Lu

  1. Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to grasp so much about this,
    such as you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you simply could
    do with some percent to pressure the message home a bit, but other than that, this is
    fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Thought Bubble

