Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

200px-City_of_Bones

I promised myself I’d review books as soon as I read them this year! Well, second book of the year, and that ambitious plan came crashing down quickly. So here I am, reviewing the City of Bones after I’ve already completed another book and am well into the next.

The Mortal Instruments series seems to be in the same league as the Hunger Games and Divergent. The fan-base is huge, and the books are practically in glowing display cases at most book stories. Honestly, the book never appealed to me. I wasn’t drawn to the cover; the whole glowing body wasn’t doing anything for me.

Goodreads’ Summary:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… 

I began with a certain aloofness towards this book. I decided I needed to be impressed beyond my wildness dreams to enjoy it. I wanted the next Harry Potter. Which I obviously didn’t get, but  I grudgingly admit to liking the plot. 

The thing I don’t like are the characters. Clary seems tactless and selfish most of the time, and her character is just plain annoying. And Jace? I get he’s supposed to be some suave and beautiful jerk, but the one liners he constantly spits out are a bit contrived.

Otherwise, the plot is constantly moving, and it never gets boring. The twists and turns always keep you on your toes.  I like finding out about the Shadowhunter world as Clary does. The readers always feel a strong connection to her because they’re going through the same thing– getting introduced to a whole new world.

Cassandra Clare creates a very original world, too. She keeps the realistic New York and people, but she brings in a new aspect with the Shadowhunters. She seamlessly intertwines modern everyday things with an underground fantasy. The only thing I didn’t like about the Shadowhunter world was that it seems too dark. Everyone always seems on edge, but that may be because a war’s breaking out. Foreshadowing and all that.

Nothing is predictable, but I almost think there’s too many gasping moments. The whole “Luke, I am your father” thing seems to be going on a lot. The plot has so many surprising elements that I’m in awe Clare keeps up with all of the new revelations. She doesn’t leave any stone unturned.

Overall, I enjoyed reading the book, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. The characters aren’t likable, but the plot has many great qualities to it. I would recommend it for some, but I don’t think I’ll be continuing the series.

3 Stars

One thought on “Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

