Crabby Conversations: The Continuous Conundrum

Books. We’re obvious all obsessed with them. I literally blog constantly about stacks of paper filled with words. It’s weird, and it’s also an addiction. I always want more books. I want to read more, I want to buy more, and I want to know all their stories.

tumblr_lijkicc49J1qh4nf6o1_500

There isn’t a week or month where you’re like, “I think I’ve read all the books I want to read,” which is both a blessing and a curse. There will always be new books coming out, books you’ve never seen, or classic books waiting to instill their knowledge on you. I could read for the rest of my life without stopping, and I still wouldn’t read all the books I want to read.

This is the conundrum for readers: no matter how hard you try, you’ll never read all the books.

large

But, for bloggers, it’s even worse. Not only will we not read all the books, but we must sit here for hours and hours reviewing and posting when we could be reading. I created a blog dedicated to reading, yet the very same blog is tearing me away from it!

sylviaplaith

All bloggers are running in a constant hamster wheel: read, review, repeat. It never ends, and it never slows down.  We always have great books waiting for us, which is wonderful. But on the other hand, we will never get to read all these books. 

Not to mention, the dilemma heightens because of the blogs we follow. We see all these fabulous books we want to read, but try as we might, we will never be able to read them all. New ARCs that are constantly coming out, along with actually having a life, creates a TBR list a mile long. We, some of the most avid readers, must be condemned to reading even less than normal because we wish to share our thoughts with the world.  

Readers and bloggers all feel the pain: we can never read all the books, and we’ll just have to accept it. 

So here’s a challenge: I know we’ve all had that one book on our TBR pile that hasn’t gotten read. That one book you’ve been meaning to read for months or years, and it just never happened. It got shoved to the bottom of the pile over and over again, and it seems you’ll never read it. This month I’m challenging myself to read one book this month I’ve had on my list forever: If I Stay by Gayle Forman, and I challenge you guys to do the same!

 

One thought on “Crabby Conversations: The Continuous Conundrum

Thought Bubble

