Top Ten Books in Dystopian Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

If you haven’t noticed, I have a love/ hate relationship with dystopian fiction. On the one hand, it’s fabulous and interesting, but on the other, it begins to get repetitive. I figured this would be an easy genre to do, though, because of the copious amounts of books I’ve read in this genre.

  1. Lunar Chronicles (#1-3) by Marissa Meyer- If you combine a futuristic world with fairy tales, you cannot go wrong. lunar chronicles
  2. Divergent series(#1-2) by Veronica Roth- The first two books were action packed with magnificent characters, but the last book didn’t give the highly dramatic conclusion I hoped for.Divergent-series-by-Veronica-Roth
  3. Hunger Games series (#1-2) by Suzanne Collins- I loved the idea of these books, but again, the last book didn’t live up to the rest of the trilogy. hungergamesseries
  4. Giver by Lois Lowery- I’ve read this two or three times, and I still find it a wonderful. giver
  5. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer- I love the very literal and very scary interpretation of dystopia this book has. It tells you how the modern day world transformed into a different one, which was interesting. life as we knew it
  6. Wither (Chemical Garden #1) by Lauren DeStefano- I read the second one, but I never finished the rest of the series. This book had an interesting plot and relatable main character. wither
  7. Feed by M.T. Anderson- We had to read this for school during the summer, and I just adored it. I cried at the end, which is rare, so that’s how you know its good. feed
  8. Turnabout by Margaret Haddix- It’s such a strange, intriguing idea, that this book couldn’t be left out. turnabout
  9. Little Brother by Cory Doctorow- I love how this novel could take place at any moment in the modern day. Little-Brother
  10. Uglies (#1-3) by Scott Westerfeld- Once again, I didn’t adore the ending book, but the first three were well written with a future that everyone fears we’re heading towards. uglies-trilogy
Thought Bubble

