Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #3)

cress

Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!!!

I’d been waiting for this book since Scarlet, and I FINALLY got it after almost a year! But first, I decided to wait another week or so and reread Cinder and Scarlet in order to remember all the intricate details.

In the story, we now have Cinder, Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf together in the ship which Iko (Cinder’s android) controls.

…I just realized how that may sound if you haven’t read the first two books…. Check out my joint review of them here.

Anyway, so they’re fugitives, and they’re now trying to rescue Cress (AKA Rapunzel) from an orbiting satellite where she does undercover hacking work for Queen Levena. Things go a bit haywire, and the gang gets split. Thorne and Cress end up crashed on Earth in a desert, and now they just have to worry about nature to make it out alive. The book jumps focus to each character and their activities. Basically, they’re just trying to keep their lives and overthrow Queen Levana.

I adore books with many characters. There’s always something amise, and the reader sees all parts of the story. It’s almost agonizing. We know everything that’s happening with everyone, and it was torturous having the characters in fear or ignorance of their friends’ fates.

Guys, let me just tell you, Flynn Rider has NOTHING on Thorne.

tumblr_m96mf1hQnG1rux2aro1_500

Cress and Throne are obviously getting together (it IS a Rapunzel retelling), and even though the surprise at that was taken away, the process which leads up to the kiss is just perfect. Throne is definitely my favorite. Cress and I are practically the same person anyway… besides the fact I’m a brunette, suck at computers, have short hair, brown eyes, and not from the moon…. Otherwise, she might as well be based off me instead of Rapunzel.

I admit, it’s a little weird having all the main characters (Cinder, Scarlet, Cress) pair up nicely with their “princes,” but I’m chalking it up to the whole fairy tale aspect of the books and moving on. Besides, who doesn’t love a good love story?!

I waited a day or two after I finished Scarlet before reading this one, because I knew I’d be completely consumed with the plot, which I was. Meyers artistically intertwines all the princesses’ stories beautifully. She keeps the structure of their stories, and somehow is able to paint those elements into the bigger picture. She hints at Cress’s and Winter’s existence and purpose throughout the other books, and she ties in all the characters flawlessly.

Usually I would say no series ever can even compare to Harry Potter, but the Lunar Chronicles definitely gives it a run for its money.

5 Stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #3)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Books of All Time | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books for Readers who Like Character-Driven Novels | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Characters I’d Want with Me on a Deserted Island | Stealing Pages

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far this Year | Stealing Pages

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige | Stealing Pages

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame as Art | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

