Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

katherines23

I plunged into another John Green book with low expectations for two reasons. One: my friend told me she couldn’t even get through the book, and two: it just looked… boring. But John Green has yet to fail me, so I began. And my disappointment never came.

Collin is exceptional. He’s a classified child prodigy, and he has dated 19 Katherines throughout his life. Only Katherines. No Kathys, Catherines, Cathryn, or Kathryns. Just Katherines. Number 19 has officially ripped his heart out and stomped on it, so him and his best friend, Hassan, have taken off on a road trip to rid Collin of his heartbreak. Somehow, the boys end up staying in Nowhere, Tennessee, and their adventures change Collin forever.

This book is so funny. Like, roll-on-the-ground-laughing hilarious. And that’s saying something, because ask anyone, I don’t really laugh/ cry in books or movies. Once the reader really connects with the characters, we grow to love them. It only took me about two days to finish the book, but I felt as if Hassan, Collin, and Lindsey were my actual friends. Green makes them seem so real, which, in turn, makes the funny things they do 10 times funnier. I tried to show some of the funniest passages to some of my friends, and they looked at me like I was crazy. Really, it’s only hilarious when you know the characters.

Green always, always has a philosophical question his characters are working out. Which, again, is true of An Abundance of Katherines. Collin battles with the fact he’s a “Dumpee” and he’s worried he peaked too early. As he’ll tell you, there’s a difference between prodigy and genius. Prodigies learn fast, while geniuses actually create and contribute. Basically, it’s a coming of age novel filled with math, history, and literature tidbits and HILARIOUS characters.

It’s a quick and easy read. It went too fast for me. The interesting thing about An Abundance of Katherines is the extra little facts Green fills the book with. For instance, Collin explained the mystery of the shower curtain sticking to your body when you take a shower. And the very same day…

  • Teacher: Who know why the shower curtain moves in when you’re taking a shower?
  • Me: *wakes up from my glaze* I do!! The curtain moves in because, like, the water makes a–um– a hurricane and the eye of the hurricane is the center, uhh, and the curtain is attracted to it? It was in my book, I swear I know it!!
  • Teacher: Um… close…

I may not have explained it well, but I knew it! I love the little factoids throughout the novel.

The plot wasn’t anything interesting, nor was it highly developed. It’s contemporary fiction, but this is just another example of an unrealistic experience for teens. Trust me, my life is nowhere near that exotic. Where do you even find 19 Katherines to date?

In most of Green’s books, the characters make the story, which is exactly what happened. An Abundance of Katherines is a fun read with awesome characters which also answers some life questions about peaking too early, dating, and prodigies.

4.5 Stars

“Well, while you were in the bathroom, I sat down at this picnic table here in Bumblefug, Kentucky, and noticed that someone had carved that GOD HATES FAG, which, aside from being a grammatical nightmare, is absolutely ridiculous. So I’m changing it to ‘God Hates Baguettes.’ It’s tough to disagree with that. Everybody hates baguettes.”

“Dude, you’re such a geek. And that’s coming from an overweight Star Trek fan who scored a 5 on the AP Calculus test. So you know your condition is grave”

I can’t give away all the comedy in the book, or it wouldn’t be worth reading, but I do highly recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Characters I’d Want with Me on a Deserted Island | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far this Year | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Books about Friendship | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

