Top Ten Gateway Authors/ Books

I thought I’d never be able to think of anything for this topic, but after a couple minutes, I realized I actually have a lot. This week’s topic is gateway authors or books that got you into reading or introduced to a genre, which is hard because I’ve never been out of reading or remember a time when I disliked it. And, I don’t have strong genre preferences or had a major genre discovery. But, all the same, we’ll see what I can scrap up for this Top Ten Tuesday.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This’ll be a combination of authors, books, and series.

  1. I don’t know a child who hasn’t read Junie B. Jones. Her adventures accompanied me through my beginning years as a reader, and she’s always been one of my favorites.
  2. Magic Tree house by Mary Pope Osbone– My brother read these books in elementary school, so I also had to read them. I was very into mysteries as a child and the combination of magical tree houses and history had me hooked.
  3. Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner- In elementary school, when I first began reading chapter books, I fell in love with the Boxcar Children Gang. I read just about any of their mysteries I could get my hands onto!
  4. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling– I honestly don’t remember even being introduced to Harry Potter. I read the series for myself in, I believe, fifth grade, but the Wizarding World has always been a part of my life. My mom used to listen to the tapes in the car on repeat, and I know every book and movie (which are terrible, by the way) like the back of my hand.
  5. Mary Downing Hahn– She is in the same category as Haddix, except she mainly writes ghost stories and mysteries, which I also enjoyed going into/ throughout middle school.
  6. Margaret Haddix– Many of her books actually are dystopias, so maybe she is actually the one who got me into science fiction dystopias. I’ve read and loved all of her books in middle school.
  7. Madeleine L’engle– Specifically, my favorite book of hers is A Wrinkle in Time. It still ranks on the list of my all time favorite books, and it began my love for novels that make you really think. It isn’t just a simple, concrete plot, but instead it’s full of philosophical questions and unimaginable adventures, just like all of her books.
  8. A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz– When I went to the Decatur Book Festival in 2011 to see Haddix, I also listened to Adam Gidwitz speak about fairy tales and his book which meshes all sorts of these tales together. After that, I just had to buy the whole selection of Grimm fairy tales, and I adore reading the classics. He’s the one who really introduced me to my love of fairy tales and retellings.
  9. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan– When the Lightening Thief was a Georgia Book Nominee and we all read the book in elementary school, it stole my heart. I still love Percy and the gang, and Riordan began my interest in Greek mythology. Also, Percy Jackson was the first series I really followed, other than Harry Potter.
  10. The Giver by Lois LoweryThe Giver was a transition book for me. It began my interest in science fiction and dystopias, and Haddix’s books cemented me into this genre.
Thought Bubble

