Crabby Conversations: The Reason to Read

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies.The man who never reads lives only once.” ~George Martin

 


 

This quote basically sums up the whole reason I read. Without books to escape into, I’d be sitting at school thinking about school. Excitement in my life is scarce to come by as it is, and any story I told without books would put people to sleep. Now, I can say, “well, there was this one time I went on a roadtrip to Tennesse with my best friend and graphed the dumper/dumpee relationship (Abundance of Katherines).” It may not have been physically me, but it was one of my many lives I’ve lived.

Without all these life experience I get from reading, there wouldn’t be a library tips and tricks and facts rattling around in my mind. A person may live to 100, but I’ve already lived 100 lives between the pages of books.

I’ve been to the wizarding world, I’ve looked into the eyes of a wallflower, and I’ve saved lives with my heroic deeds, all while lying in bed. It’s cheesy and probably on tons of inspirational elementary school posters, but reading takes you to thousands of different places. I’m a quite child, a dying man, a spunky teenager, and anything else I care to be.

People ask me almost daily why I like reading. Usually, I just shrug my shoulders and smile, but realistically, this is the answer. I can live a thousand lives. I can do all the things I wish I could do in real life.

I struggle day after day after day with a painful condition: BOREDOM. I need to be doing something at all times. In fact, I need to be doing more than one thing at all times. If I’m walking, I’m also talking or whistling or even reading. You’ll never catch me just sitting, because I won’t be able to cope with the boredom.

When we have to put our phones up during tests in school, everyone just sits and stares when their finished, but I whip out my book and jump into another life. A life where dull chemistry tests don’t exist.

Nothing is ever boring in the world of fiction.

Thought Bubble

