Book Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

under the never sky

Goodreads Summary:

 Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.


 

I’ve officially procrastinated about a month before writing this review, so I apologize for the somewhat lame review.

My chemistry teacher actually recommended the book to me, and I’ve noticed Into Still Blue around the internet, so I figured it must be another good Hunger Games/ Divergent– type series. I was kind of right.

It was another dystopia, which already lowered my love of it right off the bat. I’m just so tired of the dystopias!! I hoped it would have been special or have a weird and new twist, but it isn’t. It’s a run-of-the-mill dystopia adventure with a teenage romance. Very typical.

On the other hand, I did love the writing style. I’m not a fan of dual perspectives because, again, I feel like it’s overdone and not done well usually. But Rossi really had completely different voices for both characters, and it benefited the story to have the different views. The “star-crossed lovers” thing didn’t take over, either. She focuses the story on the main conflict and important events instead of wandering off into lengthy descriptions of their first kiss, which is a nice change.

Maybe I waited so long to review this book because I don’t really have much to say on it. I checked out the second book from the library, but I returned it without reading it because I wasn’t feeling finishing the book series. Even though I feel out of the loop by not reading them, I didn’t think I could do the rest of the series.

So my final verdict: I liked the book and the writing style, but it’s an ordinary young adult dystopian romance, and without anything special jumping out at me, it doesn’t make it to my favorites list.

3 Stars

Thought Bubble

