Book Review: Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

TuckEverlasting1Everyone has heard or read this book in elementary and middle school. It’s a classic, like The Giver. Honestly, though, the only reason I read it is because it’s on my list. And, to make matters worse, I didn’t even know the general plot or anything about the book before I began.

Many people commented on the book when they noticed me reading it, exclaiming their memories of it from their childhood when they were forced to read. Well, I’ve finally tackled this classic, and I’m sorry I waited so long!

Tuck Everlasting, for all those like me who don’t know what it’s about, is set in a rural area in a little house by the woods. Winnie Foster, bored out of her mind one summer day, finds a boy lounging in her woods. A little later his mother and brother scope her up and take her to their home, apologizing the whole way about kidnapping her, but explaining it couldn’t be helped. The Tucks confide in Winnie: their whole family, plus their horse, is immortal because of spring water they drank from her woods. Well, Winnie wasn’t the only one to hear the story, and throughout the book Winnie struggles to accept the family and their story while keeping the spring hidden from the rest of the world.

I never actually sat down and had a good long reading session with this book. It’s so short, I finished it in the couple minutes here and there I can spare during school. I enjoyed it, but it’s obviously meant for a younger audience (I have no idea how its considered young adult on my list).

It’s short, sweet, and to the point. There isn’t a lot of extra details and extravagance.  Babbitt focuses on getting her theme across in the simplest way possible, which is perfect for children’s literature. She explores the concept of immortality and shows her readers the negative side of it. She weaves in deeper meaning to a short fairy tale.

Really, there isn’t much to the novel. There isn’t a whole lot of character development, and the plot structure is straightforward. It’s obvious the moral of the story is much more important than the concrete events. And despite the simplicity of it all, Babbitt still creates a interesting book.

4 Stars

One thought on “Book Review: Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Coming-of-Age Books | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

