Book Review: Calico Joe by John Grisham

calicojoe

 

Paul Tracey uses a different last name to protect himself. His father, Warren Tracey, stirred up a lot of trouble back in his baseball days, and people are still sore. Paul sets out to make things right again, while showing us flashbacks of his childhood and the revolutionary times in baseball he witnessed.

I got at least 4 middle-aged women who stopped me to tell me John Grisham is their favorite author. Well, this is the first book I’ve read by him and the first time I’ve heard of him, and I can’t say it was my favorite.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book. It’s an entertaining beach read (which is probably why so many middle-aged women like him). I only picked up this book because of book club; I though it’d be interesting to read about baseball when I literally know absolutely nothing about it.

Well, it was interesting. I liked his writing style. Everything was simple and to the point. Paul set out to tell a story, and he did. There wasn’t any real connection to the characters in the book. He flashed between baseball stats and stories to his childhood and his present. The reader feels more of a connection between Warren and Paul (father- son relationship) than they do at the big ending between Warren Tracey and Calico Joe.

There isn’t really much to say about the book. We were hard pressed at book club to come up with topics to discuss based on Calico Joe. We really just ended up talking about literature in general and debated about favorite series.

I know this isn’t Grisham’s usual writing, so I’ll probably try one of his other books. Either way, it’s a very quick read and perfect for baseball fans. If you’re like me, and know nothing about baseball, don’t fret. Grisham explains everything beautifully without making it dull.

I read it in about two days, and I never once felt bored or trudged through the pages. It may not be great for discussions, but it’s a fun simple novel.

3.5 Stars

One thought on “Book Review: Calico Joe by John Grisham

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books that should be in Your Beach Bag | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

