Confessions of a Teenage Reader: My Organized Mess

I’m fairly organized. For school, I have a binder with tabs for each subject and sometimes even subgroups in those tabs. I keep a tally of all my bookmarks and all the books I read. I update Goodreads regularly. My room is in tip-top shape 90% of the time. I keep to-do lists, and every other kind of list for that matter. I don’t procrastinate on school work. My books are in alphabetical order by author’s last name.

BUT

By the end of the school year, I’ve run out of pencils, and I shove random papers in my bag because I’m too lazy to get out my binder. My locker is a complete mess from beginning to end of the year. My to-review list is through the roof most of the time. And, my room, though clean, is so cluttered it looks messy.

organizedmessgif (1)

So you see, it’s quite a conundrum. Though I pride myself on my organization and scheduling and all that, I have secret hideaways of disorganized junk that surround me.


 

Scheduling:

Let’s talk about blog posts. I’m a pen and paper kind of girl. In my book, I usually have at least two things: 1) my bookmark (duh) and 2) my to-do list. Honestly, my book is where I keep a lot of crap, so I’m even unorganized there.

But anyway, in addition to my daily to-do lists, I have a little planner for all my blog posts which I keep up with pretty well. I put the books I read that week, the Top Ten Tuesday topics, the reviews that should be go up that day, and my discussion posts.

That’s where it gets hazy. It’s so hard to think of bookish things to talk about every week! Sometimes (like this one) I hurriedly write it the night before. Every once in a while, I completely skip the post. At the end of the month, I’m always thrilled that I have an already though out Monthly Wrap-Up, and I don’t have to do anything creative. It’s really quite sad because I don’t want my blog to be just reviews, but it’s so hard to think of and write these posts!

Or, I take the easy way out and write a post complaining about writing.

tumblr_inline_mom461GFy21qz4rgp

Another thing, I see bloggers who have an entire 6 months of posts planned and ready, yet here I am struggling to keep my head above the water week by week with discussions, weekly tags, and reviews.

Which brings me to my next point-


To-Review List

Sure, all bloggers TBR list is through the roof, but only the ones who procrastinate have a to-review pile just as high. There are some books where I just don’t have anything to say, so I don’t feel like dragging myself through the reviews and a couple weeks go by…. I eventually get them all written, but my lack of enthusiasm has caught up to me. I used to have my reviews scheduled months in advance, but I’m doing those week by week, too. I blame it on exams.

Don’t get me wrong; I still absolutely love discussing the books and writing my thoughts, but I’ve gotten out of the habit of having them all done in advance, and now I’m falling behind. And discussing them is much easier than just writing about them when I don’t have a lot to say. We all have those books we read and… that’s it. We read it, thought it was fine, and moved on with our lives. When I get a really good (or really bad) book, I jump at the opportunity to write on it, but it’s all the books in between that makes it a bit more difficult.


I could ramble on and on about my perfectly planned yet haphazardly followed blogging plans, but I think you guys get the idea. Besides, I should be reviewing books, or writing all the TTT for the next year, or some other huge feat that all these superhuman book bloggers do. alicewonderlandadvice

 

Thought Bubble

