Top Ten books I almost put down but didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the books you thought about putting down but continued through. I know I have a lot of these, but I think it’ll be a hard list to come up with.

Some of these I ended up really liking, but others… I almost wish I put them down, but I absolutely loathe not finishing books.

  1. The Naming by Alison Croggon- 1 Turtle: I wanted to quit but I was reading it for school and my teacher forced me to continue. Confession: I skimmed the end.naming
  2. Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley- 1 Turtle: I don’t know. It’s a Sleeping Beauty retelling so it’s fantasy, but I usually enjoy retellings…. It was just dull. spindles end
  3. A Separate Peace by John Knowles- 2 Turtles: As soon as I picked it up I had low expectations, and I just thought it was really boring.separate peace
  4. The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by L. Frank Baum- 2 Turtles: Once it started talking about word nymphs and fairy tale gods, it went downhill from there.life and adventures of santa claus
  5. Lord of the Flies by William Golding- 4.5 Turtles: I love this book, and I’m so glad I didn’t put it down! The beginning was a bit confusing and hard to get into.lord of the flies
  6. Something Yellow by Laura Templeton- 4 Turtles: The elevated language and details threw me off in the beginning, but I ended up loving it.somethingyellow
  7. The Unidentified by Rae Mariz- 2.5 Turtles: It was just boring and typical.unidentified
  8. Under the Dome by Stephen King- 3.5 Turtles: At 1074 pages, you can’t help but think about putting it down.underthedome
  9. White Cat by Holly Black- 2 Turtles: Fantasy- enough saidwhitecat
  10. Enchantment by Orson Scott Card- 1 Turtle: I hated every second of this book, the diction, the plot, the characters. I cringe just thinking about it. Is it a coincidence that this is the second Sleeping Beauty retelling I hated? Hmm…enchantment

So I didn’t hate all the books I thought about putting down. There are more benefits than harms in plowing through books you don’t like in the beginning in my opinion. You may find a gem, like Something Yellow or Lord of the Flies, or you may still hate it, but you’ll be no worse off if that’s the case.

One thought on “Top Ten books I almost put down but didn’t

Thought Bubble

