Book Review: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

DorothyMustDie_CoverOnly1.indd

 

Dorothy is Oz’s new blue and white checkered dictator. And Amy Gumm is Oz’s new pink-haired traveler of the dilapidated yellow brick road. Wicked and Good have lost their meaning, and Amy is fighting with the Wickeds to save Oz from Dorothy’s fascist regime. Dorothy has a bit more up her sleeve than the Wicked Witch of the West, and she’s using all the magic in Oz to keep her position and execute those against her. Amy’s mission: kill Dorothy.

Let’s first talk about my surprise at the writing style in the book. I didn’t dislike it, and I should have known it would be like that based on the inside cover blurb, but I was a little shocked to read the first-person contemporary-like narrative. I figured this book would be like The Lunar Chronicles or The Hunger Games or Divergent. All these series have the same thing in common: third-person perspectives. I figured with an action/adventure type book, it was protocol to write in third-person, and the narrative threw me off.

While I was thrown off, I didn’t hate it. It made the story more personal and comedic. Her opinions and the way she figures things out happen with the reader, and we don’t see all the wheels turning, just her view of things. I liked the change. Not only contemporary novels should harvest first-person perspectives.

Now, the idea for the book is amazing. Dorothy, evil? Beautiful. It’s one of those ideas that completely blow my mind, even though it is so simple. Because, come on, who doesn’t think Dorothy’s girlish innocence and peppy attitude is a bit unnerving? She seems very unrealistic in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and Paige’s added corruption makes everything more interesting.

Paige sprinkles the novel with references to the complete Oz series, and she adds a contemporary twist to everything. A heroine with pink hair and a goth munchkin who greets her with moving tattoos. Oz was once a beautiful country, and now the whole area is feeling the depression of Dorothy’s rule. Amy’s thoughts and actions are expected by the typical high school girl, and she isn’t a fully goody-two-shoes and completely smiley like Dorothy was. Paige’s fresh take on Oz may be morbid, but sucks the reader in quickly.

Warning, from here on, I’ll get rant-y.

At some points, I already thought Amy had figured something out because it was pretty much blatantly stated and I knew, but she didn’t have the epiphany until a couple chapters later. And this happens multiple times.

And the plot structure. The action wasn’t spaced out. In the beginning, I was just waiting for things to happen, and by the end, I was wondering how she was going to fit it all in. Let’s take a look at the back cover.

dorothymustdieback

 

**MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS** That whole thing doesn’t come in until the last five pages. It’s a wonderful tagline, let’s be honest. This makes me want to binge read the whole series (curse the fact books in series come out a year later). BUT, do not put it on the back of the book if it doesn’t even show up in the book until the end! Basically, this is showing me the whole book is setup for the rest of the series! That’s fine and everything, for instance, The Lightening Thief introduced Greek mythology by showing a feud between the gods then added the problem of the Titans near the end which is what the rest of the series is focused towards. The difference is it didn’t have a catchy tagline about the Titans in the first book if they didn’t appear until the end!

That felt good to get off my chest. The book was fabulous, but a little unexpected due to the writing style and misleading tagline. I will most definitely be reading the rest of the series! And I have yet to read the novella prequel on how Dorothy appeared in Oz, but I will and I’ll write a mini review on that as well.

4 Stars

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

  1. Pingback: Novella Review: No Place like Oz by Danielle Paige | Stealing Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait to Get | Stealing Pages

  3. Pingback: Confessions of a Teenage Reader: Book Blurbs | Stealing Pages

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far this Year | Stealing Pages

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: Diving into June | Stealing Pages

  6. I’m a bit iffy to read this book honestly, because I read the sampler and the writing just IRKED ME. It felt juvenile lol. But I actually *do* sort of want to read this just because of the world! I’m glad you liked it though!

Thought Bubble

