Top Ten Best and Worst Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a freebie, but I kind of treated it as a rewind because I’m not creative enough to come up with my own topic! Anyway, I picked best/worst movie adaptations.

BEST

  1. The Help: Emma Stone, first of all, is completely perfect. I actually watched the movie, read the book, then rewatched the movie and I find it is extremely similar. helpmovie
  2. Catching Fire: I also thought Hunger Games was a great adaptation, but they did even better with Catching Fire. The movie was so emotional and very much true to the plot-line. catchingfiremovie
  3. Perks of Being a Wallflower: Emma Watson and Logan Lerman are also perfect. This book and movie are the core of young adult, with good quotes and exciting events that every high schooler goes through/ wants to go through. The movie captures the essence perfectly. the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie
  4. The Princess Bride: The satire of the book comes across wonderfully in the peculiar movie adaptation, and they’re both interesting and strange. princessbridemovie
  5. The Great Gatsby: I am talking about the new one. I thought the flashiness and visual feast of the movie is a good interpretation of the excitement in the book. Also, the movie actually helped clear up some points in the book for me. TheGreatGatsbymovie

WORST

  1. The Lightening Thief: Even though Logan Lerman is perfect, he is way too old to play Percy Jackson at 12 years old. Everything about this movie was wrong from the casting to the plot. They could have had Harry Potter-like movies by getting child stars to go from Percy Jackson and the Olympians up to The Heroes of Olympus, but instead they started the characters off as too old. lightening thief movie
  2. A Series of Unfortunate Events: I read the books and watched the movie when I was younger, and disappointment can’t even begin to explain how I felt. series of unfortunate events movie
  3. The Cat in the Hat: Just… no. Cat_in_the_hatmovie
  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Honestly, I hate all the Harry Potter movies except for Goblet of Fire. This one was the worst, though. The books are too long to compress into movie and do justice to, but I felt like they cut out all the wrong parts. harrypotterordermovie
  5. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: I couldn’t even get past the first 20 minutes of this movie. hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy movie
One thought on “Top Ten Best and Worst Movie Adaptations

  1. Pingback: The Night Before Our Stars | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

