Monthly Wrap-Ups: Mid-Summer Blues

Hey, guys! I’m a month into summer and I’m already dreading the upcoming August; the next time I write a Wrap-Up, I’ll be dragging my feet back to school. And usually, my reading habits skyrocket in the summer, but I’ve been doing pretty much the same this month. I feel like summer has just started, and I haven’t even done half the things I want to do! I still have a lengthy summer reading list going along with a to-buy list that’s bigger than normal…. But I’ll get to that later.

Read: 7 novels, 1 nonfiction 

  1. Exodus 2022 by Kenneth Benett
  2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  3. I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
  4. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen
  5. The Extraction List by Renee N. Meland
  6. The Chocolate Wars by Robert Cormier
  7. Mind Games by Kiersten White
  8. 1776 by David McCullough

New Books: 10 novels, 2 nonfiction

  1. 1776 by David McCullough
  2. Eyes on the Prize by Juan Williams
  3. Specials by Scott Westerfeld
  4. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  5. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  7. The Third Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares
  8. The Last Summer (of You and Me) by Ann Brashares
  9. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  10. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  11. L8r, G8r by Lauren Myracle
  12. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Bookish Things:

  • 813 bookmarks
  • The Decatur Book Festival authors are up!
  • The YALL Festival authors are also up!!
  • I’m going to both festivals this year and I’m sooo excited. emma-stone-excited

Non-Bookish Things: 

  • I’m finally 16! Too bad my driving test isn’t until July…
  • I’ve got my base tan from going to Tybee Island for the weekend, and next week I’ll be headed to Myrtle Beach!
  • It’s summer, so I’ve been basically doing absolutely nothing.

Monthly Favorites: 

  • Read: I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak- This is going on my all time favorite books; I liked it way better than The Book Thief (though they’re both perfect).
  • New: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins- The cover is gorgeous, and I know everyone loves this book, so I have to read it (plus Stephanie Perkins will be at the YALL Fest!!!).
  • New bookshelves and floating shelves! I have a really, really small room, and I have a lot of books. It’s not a good combination. So, for my birthday, I’m getting a tall blue bookshelf in addition to my other one, and my aunt got me floating shelves. floating shelves
  • And, of course, the fact that I’m going to the YALL Fest this year is perfect. I cannot wait. Guys, it’s only the end of June and I’ll have to wait until November. Ugh. But, here’s all the books I have to get signed (so far) yallfestbooks

I didn’t read as many books as I wanted to this month, but hopefully in July I’ll read more, plus do some summer work (textbook reading, yay!). I need to finish all the books before all my festivals, but I have time. One more month of no school! I hope all of you guys are having a great summer, too!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Ups: Mid-Summer Blues

  1. I’m so jealous that they have YA book festivals by you. I haven’t had much luck finding any around me, but am considering make a trip down south to try to attend one or both of these.

    • Yeah, I even have been searching for more to attend. I found out about the YALL Fest last year and I was like “what, 6 hours? I can do that!!” I love book festivals and I recommend going to one; they’re so fun and everyone there reads!!

Thought Bubble

