Book Review: Disconnected by Lisa M. Cronkhite

disconnected

Milly is troubled with a bully– Amelia. She’s constantly getting torn down by Amelia’s negative comments, and the bullying is definitely incessant, considering they share the same body. And Amelia has done more than just emotionally harming Milly, she’s hidden her whole life before the accident. After a mysterious fire, Milly and her grandfather move in with her Aunt Rachel, and the puzzle pieces of her past begin to fit together.

I have a couple setbacks with this book, but I also have many good things to say about it. Honestly, this is going to be a completely mixed up review.

First, the bad news. I almost felt like the plot line had too much going on. She has a split personality and she also can’t remember anything about her past and her family is hiding things from her and maybe what she thought happened didn’t really happen…. It was an overwhelming amount of information. But by the end of the book, I felt like the author tied everything in nicely and made sure it all fit into place. It just felt like too many things were happening during the book as a whole.

Also, the writing style is very simple. I felt like there needed to be more details and more time spent on certain scenes. Instead of having important scenes with transitional ones in between, the whole thing felt like it moved too fast. There was never one break in the story to give more information and connect with the characters. I think with more description, this could have been fixed.

And the characters. Oh, the characters. I don’t like either Milly or Amelia. Milly’s just insipid. I feel like she has no personality and was only nervous and strange all the time. And with those qualities, it makes me wonder how the grounds boy seems so interested in her. But everyone loves a romance, I guess. Despite the fact that they don’t go together at all, I like the subplot because Milly is actually happy with him and it’s a break from the drama. I think it could have been developed better, though, because they’re saying “I love you” after meeting twice. Her Aunt Rachael and Grandpa George, though, are well-rounded and interesting characters with an air of mystery surrounding them. I’d rather read about their lives than Milly’s.

On the other hand, the book always moved quickly and wasn’t boring. The mystery continued to unfold throughout the novel, and it was completely unpredictable without seeming unrealistic. I think the book should have actually been longer to account for more detail and maybe have a few lulls in the activity, but it’s definitely perfect for a fast read.

Also, the story line is completely unique. Milly’s split personality disorder makes everything that much more exciting. Sometimes, though, I wished the book would focus more on the mystery than her disorder, but I understand that with a mental illness, it never goes away. I would have liked to see things from Amelia’s perspective. I think that would have helped the reader understand Amelia’s motives for the things she does. Milly explains some of Amelia’s feelings, and writing it only in Milly’s point of view did keep me guessing.

I can’t say I absolutely loved the ending from the characters’ perspectives, but there can’t always be a happily ever after. In fact, it was very realistic yet also resolved the novel well so the readers weren’t stuck wanting more.

I found some parts I had to read over to understand, but for the most part, I enjoyed the originality, quick pace, and exciting plot that came along with the book. I didn’t love the characters or shortness of the book, and I do think it could have been developed better.

3 Stars

One thought on “Book Review: Disconnected by Lisa M. Cronkhite

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: Summertime Saddness | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

