Top Ten Books that were Hard for Me to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. A reader suggested this week’s topic, and each blogger can pick the reason for the book being hard to read. My list will be books that were difficult to read because of the reading level. I’m going to be honest here. I’ve been reading almost exclusively in the young adult genre, and these page-turners aren’t a mind-boggling read. Despite that, I’ve sifted through some difficult reads.

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak book thief
  2. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien  hobbit
  3. Anne of the Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery anneofgreengables
  4. 1984 by George Orwell Orwell1984
  5. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury fahrenheit-451
  6. Lord of the Flies by William Golding lord of the flies
  7. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain tomsawyer
  8. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell gone with the wind
  9. The Heart of Darkness by Joesph Conrad heartofdarkness
  10. Any nonfiction book ever

Granted, I read some of these books a long while ago, and it’s kind of shameful the amount of “great” literature that’s sat on my TBR list for no telling how long. I’m reading Flowers for Algernon next (it’s for school, so I actually will), and hopefully I can sprinkle in some classics in addition to my fluffy contemporary romances or fast-paced dystopians.

Thought Bubble

