Monthly Wrap-Ups: Jumping out of January

Alright guys, I had big plans for the New Year. Big.

Okay, they weren’t big. They were actually reduced greatly. My ambition took a hard hit at the end of the year, and I have been stomped down to one review, one Top Ten Tuesday, and (maybe) one discussion post a week. I know, pathetic compared to these other super-human bloggers. I told myself I’d get ahead on my reviews, get organized, be all around better.

I don’t know if that happened.

I did do most of the January stuff on the Book Blogger Organization challenged hosted by The Book Addict’s Guide. So there’s a win for me! I also posted a discussion post (my first in a while) about quotes, fulfilling my goal for the Discussion Post Challenge. I never skipped a review or a Top Ten Tuesday, but I do wish I posted more than just one discussion in a month. But that’s what February’s for!

Plus, I have read more. And considering I’m shooting for 90 books in 2015, I need to keep that list up every month. And, I read two classics this month, which was more than my quota!

Read: 6 novels

  1. Noggin by John Corey Whaley 
  2. The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan
  3. The Stranger by Albert Camus
  4. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
  5. Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
  6. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Reviewed: 4 novels

  1. The Color Purple by Alice Walker we were liars
  2. Emma by Jane Austen
  3. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  4. We were Liars by E. Lockhart

Discussion: 1 post

Book Haul: 10 novels

  1. Killer Cruise by Jennifer Shaw
  2. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  3. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chboksy
  4. Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
  5. The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom
  6. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  7. The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
  8. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  9. The Forsaken by LIsa M. Stasse
  10. Fairest: Queen Levana’s Story by Marissa Meyer

Bookish Excitement:

  • I found out Wednesday that Marissa Meyer, author of the Lunar Chronicles, was going to The Little Shop of Stories in Decatur for her book tour of Fairest last Friday. How could I not go?! She lives in Washington, and I had already accepted the fact that I probably would never get to meet her. We listened to her speak about writing and Fairest and Winter and I got my whole collection signed and I couldn’t even handle the excitement. 
  • So, this doesn’t qualify as any event or anything, but I thought it was worth mentioning. See all those books in the haul up there? Yeah? Every single one of them (minus Fairest) my friend was getting rid of, and she opened her bags and let me have a field day. And they’re all in beautiful condition. I’ll have to rearrange my bookshelf to get them to fit!faithbookhaul

Non-bookish Excitement:

  • I spent one of my Saturdays taking the infamous SAT, so that was fun.
  • I had an interview last Saturday for a summer program called GHP that’s basically like going to college for four weeks. A teacher nominates you in a certain area (I’m trying to go for Communicative Arts, aka English) and then you take super unique classes in that area. I find out in March if I get in; fingers crossed!
  • I finally posted my story describing the process to get my high school access to golf carts on The Prowler, our newspaper. It took almost all semester to put together, so it’s a huge relief that’s over with.

lunarchroniclessignedMonthly Favorites:

  • Read: I read so many good books this month! I think, based on uniqueness, it’d have to be The Stranger by Albert Camus.
  • Reviewed: Again, so many good ones! I’m thinking We were Liars by E. Lockhart.
  • Discussion: Well, I only have one….
  • Haul: Definitely Fairest by Marissa Meyer. Plus it’s signed!
  • Bookish: Marissa Meyer signing
  • Non-Bookish: I can’t image it being anything but the SAT.
Thought Bubble

