Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic focuses on quotes, which I’m all for considering at this very moment my hand is full of beautiful words from Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison. I’m going to pull all these quotes from my quote jar, so most of them will be from books I read this year.

  1. I don’t care if you’re queer. Queer is just a word, like orange. I know who you are. There’s no one word for that. –Andrew Smith, Grasshopper Jungle
  2. He had a word, too. Love, he called it. But I had beeen used to words for a long time. I knew that thatword was like others: just a shape to fill alack; that when the right time came, you wouldn’t need a word for that anymore than pride or fear. –William Faulkner, As I Lay Dying
  3. We don’t have a word for the opposite of loneliness, but if we did, I could say that’s what  want in life. –Marina Keegan, Opposite of Loneliness
  4. She cried for the girl who never belonged. A girl who tried so hard, harder than anyone else, and still never had anything to show for it. –Marissa Meyer, Fairest
  5. There’s no such thing as a soulmate… and who would want there to be? I don’t want half of a shared soul. I want my own damn soul. –Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List
  6. You Can find ways to be okay with dying, but you can’t fake your way through living. –John Corey Whaley, Noggin
  7. Sometimes I think that maybe we are just stories. Like we may as well just be words on a page, because we’re only what we’ve done and what we are going to do. –Jodi Lynn Anderson, Tiger Lily
  8. I ask you: What would you do if you were me? Tell me. Please tell me! But you’re far from this. Your fingers turn the strangeness of these pages that somehow connect my life to yours. Your eyes are safe. The story is just another few hundred pages of your mind. For me, it’s here. It’s now. I have to go through with this, considering the cost at every turn. Nothing will be the same. I’ll kill this man and almost die myself, inside. I want to scream. I want to scream out, asking why. The scattered stars shower down like icicles tonight, but nothing soothes me. Nothing allows me an escape. The figure in front of me collapses, and I stand above him, waiting. Waiting. –Markus Zusak, I am the Messenger
  9. The secret of happiness is to see all the marvels of the word, and never to forget the drops of oil on the spoon. –Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist
  10. If you only read what everyone else is reading, you only think what everyone else is thinking. –Haruki Murakami

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Top Ten Tuesdays | Stealing Pages

Thought Bubble

